watch out 2011

so, i blinked and realized that too much time has gone by since last we chatted. i’ve been prepping for a bunch of new wonderful projects on the horizon but thought to myself, “hey you haven’t posted a damn thing about it!” for shame! and so here, for all to see, i post my goals for 2011. i have a lot of gorgeous photo projects all lined up and i promise to show you them all…which leads to my, drumroll please…goals!!!

 

so here it is.

no. 1.  SHOW what you can do! I am always and I mean always taking pictures. Pictures of bugs, pictures of snow, my kids playing with bugs…in the snow. You know, just all the time. me + camera always pressed up to face = good times. so here’s my goal: to show you. I have done some amazing! (if i do say so myself) shoots for clients over the past year and get so caught up in editing and then delivering on the goods that I hardly remember to blog about it, nevermind add it to my portfolio. So more pics, more blogging, more goodness. I pinky promise.

no. 2.  Don’t stop learning. Last year I decided to go back to school and pursue a business degree to help me further build my business. Of course my type A personality kicked in and I realized I couldn’t just go to school. I needed to sit in the front row, raise my hand in geeky abandon, and get a 4.0. Go big or go home! lol. This goal is to remind me not to stop. But not just for the business part of it but also as a reminder to keep trying to learn new things. Take new risks as a photographer. Stumble. Fall even but get back up again and keep going.

no. 3.  Keep your feet moving. This one is literal for me. Playing roller derby was always such a brilliant way for me to stay fit and blow off steam. As I began to take on more photography projects and develop my business, roller derby took a back seat. It just had to. Roller derby is an absolute amazing sport filled with hard-working dedicated ladies who train tremendously long hours to stay fit and ultra-competitive. There was just no way I could take on more and still train. So last year I took a leave from derby and began running as a way to stay active and fit. It’s nothing like roller derby, that’s for sure! No one shouting out at you to skate faster, get lower. (I kinda miss that part to be honest!) 🙂 Very often I find myself unmotivated to run or go to the gym. This goal is meant to prevent all that. I hereby declare that I am going to run a 5K this year. AND dare I say, when I am done with that I will train for a half-marathon. I will keep my feet moving.

no. 4. When it’s right, settle.  This one seems like the easiest but in fact is the hardest because I am picky. This year we will sell our old house (finally!) and find the perfect house for our family to live in.

This year already has proven to be a very exciting one, filled with bright new adventures and projects planned for the coming months. Stick around for the ride. I promise it will nothing short of entertaining!

 

 

2 thoughts on “watch out 2011

  1. Great goals miss! I will be sticking around, I promise that! You might just have inspired me to go for a run… umm I mean walk, one step at a time, you know. ; ) Miss you! xoxo

Leave a Reply

